Sunday, May 16, 2010

Sydney wrap-up, Bond O-week, Med camp and stuff

Whoo. This is gonna be quick... 8am start tomorrow =(

Wrapping everything up in Sydney was sad. *sigh* but it was really great meeting such awesome people and getting to spend time with them and learning little bits and pieces are uni as well.

Bond o-week has been okay. Quick run through of my time here:
TUESDAY: Night time arrival, hour late pick up, arrived in the room past 12 only with the help of like 3 different people throughout the night, knocked out.
WEDNESDAY: Woke up, showered, bummed around, cleaned and unpacked, organized enrollment stuff, hung out in Amy's (a friend's friend, whose also doing med), ate nachos, watched TV, went to trivia/comedy night.
THURSDAY: First day of real orientation! Met more people. Mock Problem-based learning (PBL) with our PBL groups to get to know each other and figure out how PBL works. Went out for dindin with the rents.
FRIDAY: Day two of med orientation. More PBL and also signed up for insurance as a med student. WHOO. Free of charge. With 4 different providers. Got freebies. SCORE. Had dindin with the rents.

This weekend was med camp and it was pretty cool getting to know people. I feel like I've sorta settled with a group of friends already, but it's a little bit clique-ish and I'm hoping that I won't get too comfortable in that. But it was really cool at med camp, 'cause there are 4 of us from Melbourne and we had a like massive weird/funny/serious deep and meaningful in the night. The day was okay, nothing special. Getting bossed around by 2nd and 3rd years and doing random activities. Haha. There was a bit of drama last night as well, but I think everything turned out okay. No one's holding grudges, no one's hurt, so it's all good.

Today, we came back from camp, spent the rest of the day with the rents and now I'm about to sleep to be able to get up for my 8am class. By the way, I like like...2 minute walk from the lecture theater. No probs there. Haha.

BACK TO SCHOOL! Whoo.

No comments: