Monday, May 17, 2010

Med school??

Omgosh. It still hasn't sunk in that I'm a med student. I will wait until prac and see.... maybe it won't hit me until I graduate, assuming that I will, of course.

It's actually really good. Pretty fun. Not too hard on the workload (yet?), but it's really cool. Yesterday was an intro lecture in Scientific Basis for Medicine (SBM) and some other admin stuff. Today was TB screening part 1 and Clinical Skills (CS) intro. The two other themes of the program is Personal and Professional Development (PPD) aaand...um... Health and Society (HS).

Today we two CS lectures, one which was like and overview thing and the other actually about doctor-patient relationship and stuff. The 3 things that I got out of that lecture is:
1) Med school teaches to you be good liars.
2) Never cry in front of your patient.
3) Never disclose personal information to your patient.

Whoo. Med school is cool. XD Depending on my group, I'ma get to see simulated patients (SPs, I know a lot of acronyms...) and actually take a history. Whoo!

Thursday is gonna be a really good day. No classes! Haha. Who would've thought, yeh? I have my second part of TB screening and a doctor's appointment, but apart from that no lectures, no tutes, no labs, nothing. Whoo.

Haha and today during out CS intro lecture, me and a friend were skype video calling each other... when we were sitting next to each other and I had to try SO hard to keep from laughing. But one of the lecturer's kept looking at us and I think we might be in the "bad" books. Eek, but we'll see. He's actually a really cool lecturer, who is gonna teach us to lie. =)That's right folks. Doctors are trained liars. (Not necessarily liars, but are trained to.)

Anyways. Off to study like a good little boy and then I'm going out for dindin. Whee. I should exercise too. I'm so lazy and unfit. Ugh. I'ma thinking of doing boxing classes with some friends or swimming at the pool between classes. =)

This blog was all over the place. Oh well. I'll try to stick to a topic next time. =\

But for now... stay cool and in school. ;)

-jmah

No comments: